Safe & Sound

This week, I’ve been installing the Rockwool Safe & Sound product intended for soundproofing and fire retardation.  I am installing this product in the living room and kitchen ceilings, around the bathrooms, and in the adjoining kitchen/office wall.  It appears to be a less-dense version of the regular R15 Rockwool insulation – although, annoyingly, the same price. It carries the same sound-proof, fire-proof, bug-proof, water-proof, mold-proof characteristics but the bales were easier for me to carry into the house.  

As mentioned in my previous post about insulation, these batts are designed for stud walls on 16” centers.  The living room joists are on 12” centers. So I could cut 3” off the width of each batt, or cut 11” sections in the other direction and hopefully have less waste.  I went for this option, although it was a lot more work. Enjoy this video of a section of the living room ceiling.

 

Now that that’s done, the living room is fully insulated and looks like our own anechoic chamber (nerd term for a soundproof room). [PS: I even spelled it right on the first try which I’m super proud of].

img_2356

The kitchen, thankfully, is on 16” centers, allowing me to simply put full batts in.  It went much quicker.

 

 

Author: osuengineers

We are Amy & Shawn and this is the home renovation story of the flood house we bought in Houston, TX. After binging on too many episodes of Fixer-Upper and since we weren't finding any already remodeled houses we liked, we took on the ambitious project of renovating a house flooded during Hurricane Harvey. This blog will chronicle the whole process and the projects we undertake - and probably some funny stories along the way.

One thought on “Safe & Sound”

Leave a comment